Pinktober! Queue Another Stupid Facebook Meme

photo by Jörgen Viberg [courtesy flicker / creative commons]

There’s a chill in the air. That used to mean leaves turning yellow and crimson, but now it means everything in sight turning pink for Breast Cancer Awareness Month.

October means a new Facebook meme that allegedly raises “awareness” of breast cancer.

In years past, female Facebook members would post – without explanation – where they put their purses when they got home. “I like it on the kitchen counter.” Wink, wink.

The year before that they posted the colors of the bras they wear wearing. Red. Nude.

This helps raise awareness? Really?…

[read my entire “She the People” column at The Washington Post: Pinktober! Queue another stupid Facebook meme]

About Quixotic Chick

I write. I take pictures. I survived cancer.
This entry was posted in Cancer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pinktober! Queue Another Stupid Facebook Meme

  1. Diane Powell says:

    Donna,

    I have to go in for a breast biopsy tomorrow. I have a great sense of humor and all, but the whole “awareness” thing seems to be going a little too cutesy. And gee, I hardly think of myself as a prude, but what’s with mixing all of the sexual innuendos with the topic of breast cancer? I agree with you.

  2. Diane Powell says:

    It’s benign, praise God!

Leave a Reply

