Poem for My Mother

I’d been wanting to write a thank-you note to my mom. I guess this poem is it.

Poem for Her
by Donna Trussell

I wish I could see myself
through the eyes of the child
I never had. The wrinkles
softened by gauzy memories,
the excess pounds excused
by comfort taken there —
no safer place than the circle
of those arms.

But nothing so vivid
has come from my imagination,
from the land of wishes.
The Texas sun beating down,
the tall, unhindered grasses
swishing all around us.
Too real. I recognize.
It’s you I see.

About Quixotic Chick

I write. I take pictures. I survived cancer.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poem for My Mother

  1. Mark Curran says:

    Beautiful, just beautiful. The most beautiful poem I’ve read about motherhood.

Leave a Reply

