Meet Me in Montauk

[ed note: updated January 11, 2011]

Ah, l’amour!

“The Book of Love” by The Magnetic Fields, covered by Nataly Dawn.

You’ve got a face with a view. And David Byrne dances with a lamp to one of the greatest love songs of all time. From the film Stop Making Sense, here’s Talking Heads performing “This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody).”

(if the video has been removed, which happens from time to time at YouTube, try this myspace link: Talking Heads – Naive Melody (This Must Be The Place)

Anais Mitchell from Vermont performs her song adapted from the classic “Shenandoah.”

Daniel Lanois sings “Jolie Louise.”

Singer/actor Tyler Hilton — who played the young, up-and-coming Elvis in the 2005 Johnny Cash biopic Walk the Line — performs Bob Dylan’s “Boots of Spanish Leather” with Alexa from the band Chic Gamine.

Beck covers the JJ Cale song “Magnolia.”

10,000 Maniacs performs “Eat for Two.”

A Dartmouth student covers Eric Clapton’s classic “Layla.”

Lloyd Cole and the Commotions perform “Lost Weekend.”

Kelly Rosenthal, Maddie Freeman and Taylor Broom cover Leonard Cohen’s classic “Hallelujah.”

James McMurtry sings “Rachel’s Song.”

Richard Thompson sings “Beeswing,” his love song to a woman and an era.

Dave Carter & Tracy Grammer perform “Tanglewood Tree” and “When I Go.”

Ray Charles performs “Hit the Road Jack.”

Aimee Mann sings her song “4th of July.”

John Hiatt sings “Ethylene” with the Nashville Queens in Germany. In an interview John Hiatt revealed how he came to write this offbeat love song.

I saw the name on a road sign in Missouri. There was this two mile stretch of road, and Ethylene was the name of the wife of the couple who had adopted this stretch of highway.

I remember going to a gas station, and this guy was asking me questions, and running me through the wringer. In this gas station there were a bunch of stuffed heads of hunting trophies, and he mentioned that he and his wife bowhunt.

He says, `Oh, my wife’s a better bowhunter than I am. She can bag her limit.’ I thought it was a great saying, so that found its way into the song.

But ethylene is another word for alcohol, and a toxic form of alcohol at that. I wonder if “Ethylene” is really a valentine to the wild life Hiatt had to leave behind.

At the 2002 Olympic games, American figure skater Michelle Kwan followed up her 1998 Olympic silver medal with a bronze. A disappointed Kwan concluded her Olympic appearance with a stunning exhibition skate to Eva Cassidy‘s cover of “Fields of Gold” by Sting:

The Waterboys sing “A Bang on the Ear.”

kayenne1 covers “You Had Time” from Ani DiFranco‘s release Out of Range (which has a lovely piano prelude not heard on live versions).

Amber and Jordan of Cincinnati cover the Johnny Cash hit “Ring of Fire.”

Eugene sings the Irish ballad “Wild Mountain Thyme” (Will You Go Lassie Go).

Grant Lee Phillips sings “Honey Don’t Think.” …there’s something wrong in my stars / could you look at my chart, help me heal these scars? / could you learn to read minds? / and in the case of mine, do you read in the dark?…

The next song is in Japanese, and the artist is Hanaregumi ハナレグミ. The song is “Madobe-ze” マドベーゼ. The lyrics were translated for me as follows: You are always happy for me as if it happened to you / your tears and laughter give colors to my days / which have wounds that can’t easily heal / I discover who I am by being next to you / our love conveys each other / even when we ask for nothing/ our life is deepened / while we do nothing special / I wonder why you always tell me that I saved you / though I only act normally sunny, cloudy or… / the weather in my heart keeps changing / but you come and visit me again today / with no umbrella / I learn who I am by being with you.

“Everybody’s Gotta Learn Sometime” by Beck from the best love story you’ve never seen, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind starring Kate Winslet. Rent it and learn what “meet me in Montauk” means.

About Quixotic Chick

I write. I take pictures. I survived cancer.
This entry was posted in Whatever and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meet Me in Montauk

  1. Music Fan says:

    Hey Donna-

    Have you heard about about Elvis Costello’s new Album- inspired by Cash -or heard some of it?

    I’m doing well. I’ve got my darling daughter keeping me happy and distracted!

    So, do you like Elvis Costello?

    BTW: You are an an artist with words- I work with photos.

    Just getting my portfolio together! Any words of encouragement? J

  2. Hi Julianne! Yay! We’re both still here. Congratulations on doing well. Me too. Last CA125 was 6.

    I confess I’ve never been much of a Costello fan, but an album of Cash music sounds intriguing. I’ll have to check that out.

    Do send me a link to your portfolio. I tried to google it, but came up empty. Send to donnatrussell at gmail dot com.

    Thanks for stopping by. May your good luck (and mine) continue.

Leave a Reply

