Young Girl Dying in Iran

nedagrave

Grave of Neda Agha Soltan

The young woman’s name is ندا آقا .سلطان Neda Agha Soltan.

She was a 26-year-old student. She’d studied religion and philosophy, but was most interested in music and travel.

On June 20, 2009 she was watching a protest with her music teacher. At 7:05 PM she was standing on Kargar Avenue at its intersection with Khosravi and Salehi Streets.

Although initial reports implicated a sniper on top of a building, other witnesses said Neda was shot by a Basij militiaman riding a motorcycle. A doctor on the scene who tried to help said in a BBC interview that within a minute, she was dead.

On the video a male voice says, “Neda, don’t be afraid. Neda, don’t be afraid.” And then, “Neda, stay with me. Neda, stay with me!”

My two posts about Neda on Politics Daily / Woman Up: The Changing Face of Martyrdom and Dying for Freedom.

An English translation of BBC Persia’s interview with Neda’s boyfriend Caspian Makan appears on The Huffington Post. Caspian revealed that Neda was not firmly behind either Mousavi or Ahmadinejad. She simply “wanted freedom and freedom for all.”

About Quixotic Chick

I write. I take pictures. I survived cancer.
This entry was posted in Whatever and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Young Girl Dying in Iran

  1. Maryam says:

    Lovely Neda.your heart is beating in millions of Iranians’.It does not lose its beautifule rytheme till the day of FREEDOM.

    one of your thousands Sisters,Maryam

  2. Archangel says:

    @ Maryam on June 21, 2009 at 12:35 pm…
    And in the heart of one North American. You are at least now home with God.

  3. John says:

    We did not know Neda but she represents Iran’s freedom now and forever. She is a true Martyr. You cannot strap a bomb on, MURDER others and call yourself a Martyr, Her death was the act of a murderer. Her fate was chosen by a murderer. Her face will be forever etched in my mind.

    I will be leaving for a deployment to Afghanistan soon. I will carry a picture of Neda next to the one of my daughter. She will remind me of the fight I will wage for the rights and freedoms of women like Neda and those of my own 4 year old sweetie-pie back home.

    May your God bless you Neda

  4. agitpropster says:

    I thought what the brave patriots of Iran need is some good old-fashioned Western conscious protest music, so I compiled 19 tracks that I thought were an appropriate tribute to this lovely young woman…I am hoping that this CD will somehow get heard in Iran and provide inspiration and hope like they have done for us over the years. You can download all the MP3 tracks and the covers FOR FREE at:

    http://web.me.com/Richard.Luckett/Topple_Tyrants/Home.html

    Please spread the word about this.

    God Bless the American and Iranian people.

    agitpropster

  5. Bill says:

    I have become obsessed watching Nada’s video. Every time I watch it I cry. I will no longer watch it again, but she will be with me forever. I know this happens all over the world we live in. Maybe everyone needs to see these atrocities more often for more people to get involved. I am not political or religious, so I am not going to go there. I only wish I could do something to make the world a better place. My heart goes out to her family, friends and loved ones.

Leave a Reply

