Write or Die

Review of my book in The Kansas City Star. By someone I don’t know, I swear! (And there’s a review by someone else here.)

Cover photo of Namibia Sand House by Richard Ehrlich. More photos here. This ghost town was built in the 1920s. Every day the winds continue to shape the sand within the houses.

I discovered Ehrlich in Harper’s Magazine, which published the beautiful lavender/teal sand house #23. However, my publisher and I ended up choosing #17 for my book cover.

The title poem first appeared in Poetry Kanto. The other poems were written over a period of 25 years and published in various magazines.

At the end of the book is a list of people I thank. The list is long because this volume is the first I’ve published and will probably be the last. Gotta get everyone in!

Special thanks go to reviewer Kathleen Johnson, book editor John Mark Eberhart and teacher David Ray. Also to inspirations and colleagues Ann Slegman, Phil Miller, Naomi Shihab Nye, Jo McDougall, H.L. Hix and Jim Daniels.

A shoutout to the memory of the late Crystal Field, whose radio performance of her list poem “My Sister’s Leather Bag” got me thinking about poetry in a new way.

And to the memory of Raymond Carver, whose story “Feathers” struck a chord and thereby changed a life.

Much gratitude to my Helicon Nine editor and publisher Gloria Vando Hickok. Who knew such an elegant, charming woman could be so stubborn? She once confided, “I think Donna won’t finish the book because she believes if she does, she’ll die.” Gloria would not give up. Every poet should be so lucky to have a publisher like that.

Deepest thanks of all go to Dr. Steve Buie and Dr. Verda Hunter and her staff. Without their quick action, knowledge and skill, there would have been no book. Not to mention no me.

About Quixotic Chick

I write. I take pictures. I survived cancer.
This entry was posted in Cancer, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Write or Die

  1. Tabbie says:

    Congratulations on being published!

  2. Thank you! Just a few minutes ago I got up the courage to actually read the review. My “assistant” assured me it was positive, but poets are a skeptical bunch.

    Very nice review. Funny, I wrote that Titanic poem some 20 years before I got cancer, but I find it apt to my current situation. It’s awful to get cancer, but it’s almost as bad to survive it and then watch those you love fare worse.

    I once read that survivors can’t bear to watch suffering because they know how it feels to be trapped.

Leave a Reply

