Goodbye for Now

“Goodbye for Now” by Robert Coleman Trussell was a favorite of Sherri’s. At the request of John Mark Eberhart, Trussell performed the song at Sherri’s funeral. Download a free mp3 file, compliments of the singer/songwriter at MediaFire.

About Quixotic Chick

I write. I take pictures. I survived cancer.
This entry was posted in Cancer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Goodbye for Now

  1. sheri swaner says:

    I thought I would share this poem with you, as
    you honor and pay tribute to your friend, Sherri Eberhart.

    I didn’t know her; I only knew about Sherri by what you have written, while extolling her many virtues and shared times together.

    But I know of loss, of cancer, and how it feels to lose someone you care for and love.
    We are bound together in this group; a group of people who are battling cancer, those who are winning their fight against cancer, and those who are left behind when they lose someone close to them. It is anguish, with a capital “A.”

    Somehow, and at some point, we gather ourselves together,
    pick ourselves up and off the harsh and painful floor–
    lean on one another, and begin the fight again.

    This “group” is made up of some of the finest people I have had the pleasure to know and meet. Most recently, I am learning about, have been introduced to you and some of what you’ve experienced; how you feel, and what you do with the hand that you’ve been dealt?
    Like Sherri, a trooper, also an eloquent poet and writer.

    Through similar pain and loss, I have learned to appreciate sacred and beautiful moments, be grateful for days that may appear mundane–
    The mundane and simple pleasures that cancer robs people of.
    I know my brother was. I know you are, and without knowing Sherri, I am fairly certain she was too.

    Much thanks to your husband for that stunning and moving musical tribute. Really, I feel like I have entered a room
    of greatness; filled with strength, talent, wit, humor, graciousness and supreme determination and compassion.

    Thank you for that.

    My best wishes I send to you, and to Sherri’s Eberharts family and loved ones.

    Sheri Swaner, Salt Lake City

    Fairy Tales

    It seems wherever I go,
    People come into my life or out of it
    Touching me where I can feel
    Then leaving me only a memory,
    Like the gossamer fairy tales of children-
    Easily forgotten,
    And I wasn’t through knowing them.

    How do I know who I am seeing for the last time?
    How do I halt your life to gather and keep all those around you that you’ve known?
    And how do I keep fairy tales from losing their magic?

    Yet come,
    Brush against the walls of my life
    And stay long enough for us to know each other.
    Even though we’ll have to part sometime
    And we both know the longer you stay,
    The more I will want you back when you are gone.
    But come anyway,
    For fairy tales are the happiest stories we ever read
    And great books are made of little chapters.

    -Chester Swor

  2. Wow. Thank you for that beautiful poem. And for your very kind words.

    Sheri’s brother Scott Swaner had pancreatic cancer. I discovered his blog long after he died in December of 2006. But he speaks still, fluently, at
    http://donotgogentle.blogspot.com/

  3. Dan Verbeck says:

    Courage comes in many guises. Sherri epitomized it. Through the turmoil of a work day, her calm made us realize the insignificance of what seemed so important at the moment. She knew about suffering, and so, understood others afflicted. How lucky we are. And will be. Much of her remains with us.
    Thank you, Donna.

  4. Tabbie says:

    I’m sorry she is gone, angry actually, even though I did not know her, but I am very happy she lived. She really lived! My heart goes out to those she left behind, those who are hurting now because of her absence from their lives.

    You are brave for making this blog and this post, Donna Trussell, and I honor you for it.

  5. sheri swaner says:

    The photo combined with the song, is calming, reflective
    and correlate and echo your beautifully written tribute.

    I appreciate your strength, bravery and your ability to articulate and write, what so many of us feel about loss, strength,
    suffering, and living.

  6. Kiesa says:

    Thank you for this really beautiful tribute and song. My dear friend Robin died of cancer and her love and strength lives on every day of my life. In her honor, I founded a retreat for writers in the South of France, http://www.oleandercottage.com. She didn’t get a chance to finish her children’s book, so the kids at the Forest Children’s Program where I taught finished it for her, after her death. I guess Sherri’s passing, like Robin’s, really serves as a reminder to “live like you were dying” every day, as the country song says: “I went skydiving, I went Rocky Mountain climbing, I did 2.46 seconds on a bull named Fu Manchu. And I loved deeper, and I spoke sweeter . . . . . ” Okay, it’s a country song for sure, but the idea’s there, and it seems certain that both Robin and Sherri exemplified that zest for life, that love, that joy.

  7. Donna,

    I probably have not thanked you and Bob enough for everything, including this song. Your love for Sherri means a great deal to me. I still can’t quite believe she’s gone, and I miss her much more than I’ve let on to most people. I could say many things in an effort to sound pithy — she had the most profound impact on my life of anyone I’ve ever met, she had a philosophy of life that was almost non-philosophy in its simple acceptance of all things or nearly all, and so on. But the best and truest thing I can say about my wife is that I loved her, and that her soul was beautiful.

    John Mark Eberhart

  8. With all the turmoil at the newspaper, I wish I could talk to Sherri today. She was such a comforting soul.

    In that way she reminded me of my grandmother, who exuded competence. As long as my grandmother was standing beside me, I knew everything would be all right.

    It’s ironic that someone as caring as Sherri did not become a mother. Our gain, though, since she mothered us all.

    “she had a philosophy of life that was almost non-philosophy in its simple acceptance of all things” – Yes, that’s her.

    I think it’s OK to be sad – forever, if that’s how it is. Shouldn’t prisoners miss freedom? If winter lasted decades instead of months, wouldn’t we miss flowers?

Leave a Reply

